The wheat-free diet is eaten by people who have an allergy to wheat, one of the most common food allergies in infants, young children, and adults. These people are required to eliminate all foods that contain wheat or wheat products, as well as some nonfood items, specifically cosmetics, that contain wheat, in order to avoid unpleasant reactions.
Best bets: Grains and starches such as buckwheat, millet, oats, potatoes, rice, and rye. A wheat-free diet is different from a gluten-free diet. Please see our section on gluten-free diet for more information.
Copyright 2013 Aisle7. All rights reserved. Aisle7.com
The information presented in Aisle7 is for informational purposes only. It is based on scientific studies (human, animal, or in vitro), clinical experience, or traditional usage as cited in each article. The results reported may not necessarily occur in all individuals. Self-treatment is not recommended for life-threatening conditions that require medical treatment under a doctor's care. For many of the conditions discussed, treatment with prescription or over the counter medication is also available. Consult your doctor, practitioner, and/or pharmacist for any health problem and before using any supplements or before making any changes in prescribed medications. Information expires June 2014.