Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - Buy Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil ( ) 29 Solid at vitamin shoppe
Free Shipping on Orders Over $25. Order by 6PM EST and order ships same day
Reorder products. See your order history. Click here.
FREE SHIPPING on orders of $25 or more.

How to get FREE Shipping:
1. Place your online order of $25 or more*
2. Ship to an address within the United States (including U.S. territories)
3. Your shipment should arrive within 2-6 business days from your order

* Your total purchase must reach the designated amount prior to the costs of shipping and tax.
Order by 6, We'll Ship the Same Day

Domestic orders placed Monday - Friday by 6 p.m. Eastern Time will be packed and shipped the same day, pending verification of billing information and the shipping method selected. International orders and orders containing gift cards, out-of-stock items or refrigerated items will be processed as quickly as possible, but won't necessarily be shipped out the same day.

Excludes all orders placed on major US holidays (Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day).

the Vitamin Shoppe                  Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil                , 29.0 Ounces , Solid
people recommend this product.
the Vitamin Shoppe (More from the Vitamin Shoppe )

Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil

29 Ounces Solid Item #: VS-2522 / 1669001
  • Value Price: $14.99
  • Earn 15 Healthy Awards points when you buy this item. What's this?
Availability:  In Stock - Will Ship Within 24 Hours
Quantity:
  • Order by 5:00 PM Eastern Time - We'll Ship It Today
  • Free Shipping on orders of $25 or more
 

the Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil ( ) 29 Ounces Solid


Product Label

Natural Foods Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil. * Organic * Unrefined Cold Pressed * Extra Virgin * Delicious taste * 0 grams Trans Fat * Contains Lauric acid * Contains medium-chain triglycerides (MTCs) * Great for cooking and baking. Certified Organic by Quality Assurance International.

Warning

Keep out of reach of children.

Does Not Contain:

Yeast, Corn, Wheat, Sugar, Salt, Starch, Dairy, Citrus, Soy, Fish, Preservatives, Artificial Colors or Flavors Added.

Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil Supplement Facts


How do you read a supplement facts label?

Supplement Facts
Serving Size  1 TABLESPOON
Servings Per Container   59
 
Amount Per
Serving
% Daily
Value
Calories
125 
N/A*
Calories From Fat
125 
N/A*
Total Fat
14 Gm
22%
Saturated Fat
13 Gm
65%
TRANS FAT
0 Gm
N/A*
Polyunsaturated Fat
0.5 Gm
N/A*
Monounsaturated Fat
0.5 Gm
N/A*
Cholesterol
0 Mg
N/A*
Sodium
0 Mg
N/A*
Total Carbohydrate
0 Gm
N/A*
Protein
0 Gm
N/A*
* Daily value not established

Other Ingredients:
Organic unrefined cold-pressed extra-virgin coconut oil. Contains Tree nuts (Coconut).

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect solely the views and opinions expressed by the contributors and not those of the Vitamin Shoppe. Vitamin Shoppe does not verify or endorse any claims made in these reviews. Please read the full product reviews disclaimer here.

Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil Reviews

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Vitamin ShoppeOrganic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid
 
4.6

(based on 20 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (16)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

73%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Quality (8)
  • Tastes good / tastes fine (8)
  • Price (7)
  • Satisfaction (7)
  • Effective (5)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Daily use (9)
    • Heart health (6)
    • On its own (4)
    • Lower cholesterol (3)
      • Reviewer Profile:
      • Health conscious (7), First time user (4)

    Most Liked Positive Review

     

    Thanks to God for this!

    I have been using this as a face wash (mixed with warm water) and as a moisturizer! I have oily and breakout prone skin, and also some acne scarring. I never thought...Read complete review

    I have been using this as a face wash (mixed with warm water) and as a moisturizer! I have oily and breakout prone skin, and also some acne scarring. I never thought I would be able to go without makeup again, but using this has enabled me to do just that! It's awesome. It doesn't make me break out because it is naturally anti-bacterial and non-clogging. Highly recommended. The VS brand was the cheapest but still highest quality.

    VS

    Most Liked Negative Review

     

    Tasty but disappointed

    I like the taste very much, but am disappointed that it comes in a plastic bottle. I don't trust any food that comes in plastic, as you can never know what toxins are...Read complete review

    I like the taste very much, but am disappointed that it comes in a plastic bottle. I don't trust any food that comes in plastic, as you can never know what toxins are leeching into the food.

    Reviewed by 20 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 1-20

    Back to top

     
    3.0

    Had better

    By Kelly

    from Lawrenceville, Ga

    About Me First Time User

    Verified Reviewer

    Pros

    • Tastes Good

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Daily Use

      Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

      I have used another brand for a long time and decided to give this a try, the taste is good, just don't like the consistency and the fact it does not absorb as well, almost has a petroleum feel.

       
      5.0

      Works Great! No Issues At All!

      By Julin low maintenance

      from Pendleton, Indiana

      About Me First Time User, Health Conscious

      Verified Reviewer

      Pros

      • Effective
      • Good For Sensitive Skin
      • Great Cooking Oil
      • Great moisturizer

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Daily Use
        • On Its Own

        Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

        I use it as a face & body moisturizer; as well as a face cleanser. I have sensitive skin and easily breaks out and it has only helped clear my blemishes. I also use it to cook in replacement of olive oil. Superior ingredient and I fully recommend this to everyone! There are so many uses for Extra Virgin Coconut Oil.

         
        4.0

        Love this product

        By Renee

        from Arlington, TX

        About Me First Time User

        Pros

        • Effective
        • No Aftertaste
        • Tastes Good

        Cons

        • Doesn't Mix Well

        Best Uses

        • Daily Use
        • Heart Health
        • Lower Cholesterol
        • On Its Own
        • Short-Term Use

        Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

        This product made my dogs go crazy. I really enjoyed cooking with it, using it after my shower, using in my hair. Coconut oil makes food taste amazing. My food was very flavorful. My dogs was trying to jump on the counter to get to it. So they loved it too.

        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Best coconut oil ever!

        By Robert

        from Potomac, Md

        About Me Health Conscious

        See all my reviews

        Pros

        • Effective
        • Tastes Good

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Daily Use
          • Heart Health
          • Lower Cholesterol

          Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

          I switched from using olive oil for cooking to this coconut oil about a year ago when my research showed that when heated olive oil loses most of its health benefits. Not only is this oil delicious it has improved my cholesterol profile dramatically. I have tried other brands but this has the best natural flavor and makes everything that you cook in it delicious!

          (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

           
          3.0

          Tasty but disappointed

          By FS

          from Santa Fe, NM

          About Me Health Conscious

          Pros

          • Tastes Good

          Cons

          • Comes In Plastic Bottle

          Best Uses

          • Cooking
          • Daily Use
          • Heart Health
          • Protein Shakes

          Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

          I like the taste very much, but am disappointed that it comes in a plastic bottle. I don't trust any food that comes in plastic, as you can never know what toxins are leeching into the food.

          (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          coconut

          By queeniepurr

          from Ohio

          See all my reviews

          Pros

          • Mixes Well
          • No Aftertaste
          • Tastes Good

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Heart Health
            • Lower Cholesterol
            • On Its Own

            Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

            yummy and very very mild. even in tomato sauce. I haven't lost weight using it, but I have used it to replace other oils and fats

             
            5.0

            Great Coconut Oil

            By sspecial

            from New Jersey

            About Me Health Conscious

            See all my reviews

            Pros

            • Tastes Good

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • Daily Use

              Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

              I have been shopping with Vitamin Shoppe for many years and have found them to have great products. I purchase their products because of quality and price. I have been using this coconut oil for over a year and I have found it to be of good quality, smells great and taste good.

               
              5.0

              Great Tasting!!

              By DaddyT

              from Bismarck, ND

              About Me Health Conscious, Weight Lifter

              Pros

              • Economical
              • Effective
              • Tastes Good

              Cons

                Best Uses

                • Daily Use
                • Heart Health

                Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                I take a tablespoon of coconut oil every morning before I work out; it gives me the energy I need to work out. I have read about all of the health benefits about coconut oil and decided to try it. I stopped using CLA since using this product and have noticed a difference! I have seen some differences in bodyfat composition. While gradual, I have seen a reduction in belly fat. I will start taking 2 tablespoons/day to increase the results I have seen so far. Great Product!!!

                (0 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                 
                1.0

                My Skin and I HATE IT!!

                By ShaIsh

                from Greater Atlanta GA

                About Me First Time User

                See all my reviews

                Pros

                  Cons

                  • Exacerbated Acne
                  • Ineffective
                  • Ruined My Skin

                  Best Uses

                    Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                    I purchased this to add to a natural skin regimen that i have embarked on and was to use this as a moisturizer. Well, let me tell you how this not only exacerbated the little acne i had but caused additional horrible postules and breakouts in places that i never experienced acne ever in my life.
                    I even tried to just use it on my hair after i stopped on my skin (because i've used coco oil on my natural hair in the past) but even that caused a ring of breakouts along the outline of my face!! IT WILL NEVER BE INCLUDED IN MY SKIN OR HAIR CARE REGIMEN AGAIN!! :-(

                    I really wanted it to work for me because i have heard others say that it is great for the skin--just not mine.

                    (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                     
                    5.0

                    Great skin softener

                    By farm03

                    from Idaho

                    About Me Health Conscious, Loves Animals

                    See all my reviews

                    Pros

                      Cons

                        Best Uses

                        • Daily Use
                        • Heart Health

                        Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                        I use it for cooking and it is also the Best Facial Moisturizers you will find.
                        It also has MCT's, Medium Chain Triglycerides which aid the body in healing.

                        (7 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

                         
                        5.0

                        Best coconut oil on the market!

                        By Coconut Oil Lover

                        from Elkhart, IN

                        About Me Health Conscious

                        Pros

                        • Effective
                        • Mixes Well
                        • No Aftertaste
                        • Tastes Fine

                        Cons

                          Best Uses

                          • Daily Use
                          • On Its Own

                          Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                          We've tried three different brands of coconut oil, and this is BY FAR the best! It has a true coconut aroma and taste while the other brands we've used didn't have either.

                          We have used it in cooking to replace other oils and fats with great results. We have used it to moisturize hair and skin. It even makes a great "personal lubricant" for intimacy!

                          We don't have any complaints about this product, and we have recommended it to lots of friends and family. Our highest recommendation!

                          (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

                           
                          5.0

                          Best

                          By JOSEPH F

                          from Undisclosed

                          Pros

                          • price
                          • Quality
                          • Satisfaction
                          • value

                          Cons

                            Best Uses

                              Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                              This is the best product It in the vitamine shoppe, It is whole food,Organic and Natural

                              (7 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

                               
                              5.0

                              Great for weight loss, healthy skin

                              By A Vitamin Shoppe Customer

                              from Undisclosed

                              Pros

                              • Convenience
                              • price
                              • Quality
                              • Satisfaction
                              • value

                              Cons

                                Best Uses

                                  Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                                  I have been using this for years as a skin cream, great for curing dry skin. I sometimes use it for cooking when I run out of my kerry gold butter(made from grass fed cows in ireland). For a month now about 3 times a day I eat about 1 spoonful, it helps to control appetite and Ive lost about 20 pounds. This is the best coconut oil Ive found. Buy it and you won't be disappointed!

                                  (5 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

                                   
                                  5.0

                                  Tastes Great

                                  By Van N

                                  from Undisclosed

                                  Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                                  Taste like real coconut without the sugar. Extra virgin coconut oil tastes better than the regular brands available.

                                  (2 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

                                   
                                  5.0

                                  Does the job

                                  By Raylene M

                                  from Undisclosed

                                  Pros

                                  • price
                                  • Quality
                                  • value

                                  Cons

                                    Best Uses

                                      Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                                      I haven't used any other brands of coconut oil, so I can only give feedback as a first-time coconut oil user.

                                      (13 of 14 customers found this review helpful)

                                       
                                      5.0

                                      Thanks to God for this!

                                      By A Vitamin Shoppe Customer

                                      from Undisclosed

                                      Pros

                                      • price
                                      • Quality
                                      • Satisfaction

                                      Cons

                                        Best Uses

                                          Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                                          I have been using this as a face wash (mixed with warm water) and as a moisturizer! I have oily and breakout prone skin, and also some acne scarring. I never thought I would be able to go without makeup again, but using this has enabled me to do just that! It's awesome. It doesn't make me break out because it is naturally anti-bacterial and non-clogging. Highly recommended. The VS brand was the cheapest but still highest quality.

                                          (10 of 11 customers found this review helpful)

                                           
                                          5.0

                                          Cure all!

                                          By Danielle M

                                          from Undisclosed

                                          Pros

                                          • Convenience
                                          • price
                                          • Quality
                                          • Satisfaction

                                          Cons

                                            Best Uses

                                              Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                                              I did tons of research on curing yeast infections on external skin (ie when a guy gets one), and everything told me to try putting coconut oil on it to cure it. This product is excellent quality. Just a note, in colder temperatures this product is solid, in warmer temperatures it's liquid. Doesn't take much to warm it up. This product has so many uses.

                                              (7 of 8 customers found this review helpful)

                                               
                                              5.0

                                              I use this for everything

                                              By Chae M

                                              from Undisclosed

                                              Pros

                                              • Quality
                                              • Satisfaction

                                              Cons

                                                Best Uses

                                                  Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                                                  This is great for cooking with food, popping popcorn, using instead of butter in a lot of baking (cookies and sweet breads)

                                                  (6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

                                                   
                                                  5.0

                                                  Use with HCG Diet

                                                  By ANGELA B

                                                  from Undisclosed

                                                  Pros

                                                  • Convenience
                                                  • price
                                                  • Quality
                                                  • Satisfaction
                                                  • value

                                                  Cons

                                                    Best Uses

                                                      Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                                                      I am currently on the HCG diet and coconut oil is the ONLY oil allowed on this diet. I absolutely love it! I saute` veggies in it, I cook fish, chicken and shrimp in it as well! It taste great and is very good for you! The price is right and the shelf life is great also.

                                                      (3 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

                                                       
                                                      5.0

                                                      Vitamin Shoppe Coconut Oil

                                                      By Hsiu-chuan C

                                                      from Undisclosed

                                                      Pros

                                                      • Convenience
                                                      • price
                                                      • Quality
                                                      • Satisfaction
                                                      • value

                                                      Cons

                                                        Best Uses

                                                          Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil - 29 Ounces Solid:

                                                          It smells very good. I'll buy it again. :)

                                                          Displaying reviews 1-20

                                                          Back to top

                                                          Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect solely the views and opinions expressed by the contributors and not those of the Vitamin Shoppe. Vitamin Shoppe does not verify or endorse any claims made in these reviews. Please read the full product reviews disclaimer here.
                                                          Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil
                                                          Already Asked: 5 Questions, 102 Answers
                                                          Sort by:
                                                          Vitamin Shoppe Store asked: Why did you choose this?
                                                          Heidi K: Good value, taste, quality! Jun 29, 2014
                                                          Julie P: size and cost Jun 26, 2014
                                                          K H: I did my research and I bought from you because you had the best price possible per ounce! Jun 25, 2014
                                                          tony g: Because it's so frickin good... Jun 10, 2014
                                                          Robin C: Have used before. Great price for quality product. Jun 9, 2014
                                                          joan h: Read it is good for you Jun 4, 2014
                                                          Mary F: I use this for many things. I use it for my skin. I give a teaspoon a day to my dog for her skin. May 19, 2014
                                                          donna h: best online price when compared with 5 others; wanted to see if it "measures up" with the quality of 2 other brands I have used. Apr 30, 2014
                                                          Freddie P: discount Apr 30, 2014
                                                          Leslie C: A healty form of oil for health and skin Apr 28, 2014
                                                          Ann D: Great price for a good organic coconut oil! Apr 24, 2014
                                                          Richard S: Good product have been getting it from local store at a much higher price. Since I purchase other items from vitamine shoppe
                                                          and have been pleased I thought I should give yours a try.
                                                          Apr 22, 2014
                                                          Bonny W: I always get this. Apr 20, 2014
                                                          John W: discounts Apr 14, 2014
                                                          Jamie S: Good value Apr 8, 2014
                                                          Shekeela S: The reviews caught my eye. Apr 2, 2014
                                                          Jack M: Healthier cooking oil. I mainly use it for frying eggs and making omlettes. Mar 27, 2014
                                                          Kimberly C: It is a good product at a good price. Mar 20, 2014
                                                          john c: coconut oil Mar 10, 2014
                                                          amberly b: Great price Mar 6, 2014
                                                          Sunny S: I started using coconut oil about 3 months ago to battle dry skin. I now put it in my coffee, cook with it, and have replaced my expensive facial and body moisturizers with it. Excellent product. Feb 17, 2014
                                                          Roger A: Best Oil for Baking. Feb 9, 2014
                                                          Michelle A: I like the taste of coconut oil that is not refined. It is a good value. Jan 30, 2014
                                                          Terry B: COST & WANT TO TRY THR PRODUCT Jan 25, 2014
                                                          jennifer n: many health benefits Jan 22, 2014
                                                          Judy G: This jar is for my bathroom for a wonderfully soft skin treatment (and lovely soft coconut scent). Dec 27, 2013
                                                          Earline W: Good for hair. Dec 11, 2013
                                                          Edna S: I use a lot of coconut oil. I am trying this for the first time. I would like to be able to save money and this is lower cost than what I usually buy, but want to make sure the product is comparable. Dec 1, 2013
                                                          Sonya S: t's organic and it is an excellent product for cooking or moisterizing Nov 30, 2013
                                                          Mary J: Really yummy and battles candida. Oct 27, 2013
                                                          Joi W: works great Oct 27, 2013
                                                          Laura A: i give a tablespoon to my dog every morning. It keeps his fur shiny and soft ! Oct 21, 2013
                                                          Terri P: love, yummy Oct 9, 2013
                                                          Maria K: With BOGO 50% off it is by far the best deal on coconut oil that I have found! Sep 17, 2013
                                                          Lillian M: used before - liked it Sep 16, 2013
                                                          Lani G: Comparing brands of coconut oil. Good price. Worked fine. Sep 11, 2013
                                                          Shirley H: I've tried several different brands and this is the best for value specially when it is buy 1 get 1 half off. Sep 10, 2013
                                                          Eugenia H: Coconut oil is very valuable. It can be used on skin, hair, and in food. It's really good for you. Sep 5, 2013
                                                          Darlanne D: I chose this coconut oil because of the very positive reviews. Aug 31, 2013
                                                          evelyn c: to cook with and put in smoothies. size is easier for me to handle ... easier on wrists Aug 28, 2013
                                                          cheryl Z: This is the very best coconut oil I've ever found, I use it for cooking, I use it on my hair and for skin moisturizer. Love the smell and love the feel on my skin. Aug 28, 2013
                                                          Dennis S: we us it to cook with Aug 23, 2013
                                                          Frances D: We use coconut oil for cooking everything in the kitchen to skin care. Love it, love it. Jul 12, 2013
                                                          Sally S: Have been using for skin/hair, cooking and also for "oil pulling," to promote oral health. It is wonderful. Jun 23, 2013
                                                          Gloria L: only cooking oil to use Jun 11, 2013
                                                          Vickie K: Delicious! Jun 10, 2013
                                                          Anne S: This is the best organic coconut oil. The flavor alone is well worth it. Excellent product! May 17, 2013
                                                          Kristina S: it is so good. You can tell real coconut oil by the smell it this stuff smells and tastes great. Apr 30, 2013
                                                          Cynthia L: tastes great-smells lovely-very healty for you- I use it all the time-good price also-as good as garden of life brand which is excellent-a little better then nutivia-extra virgin and organic Apr 27, 2013
                                                          Nia C: I've purchased this brand of coconut oil before and I really do like it. Apr 24, 2013
                                                          Melissa S: I like this product and I like the price. Apr 18, 2013
                                                          Margaret M: organic extra virgin is much better for me than regular coconut oil. I put in a drink with other 'super foods'. Apr 15, 2013
                                                          JD D: best value, with great taste,not counting the nutritional value Apr 9, 2013
                                                          Candace D: This product got great reviews, and after I tried it for myself, it is amazing! I put a teaspoon in my morning coffee and then in a cup of hot tea after dinner. I also use it as a moisturizer on my face and chest at night. It has really improved my acne and my skin overall. I would highly recommend this product! Apr 4, 2013
                                                          Marjoyse J: Coconut oil has so many benefits. I use it on my skin to keep it soft and healthy. Put it on my hair and I will grow strong. You can cook with it too. Also, use 1 spoon three times a day before meals and you will loose weight. Just be careful you might have to go to the bathroom more often. Try 1 to 2 spoons and go up to 3. Oh...my friend uses coconut oil to control yeast infections. She drink 3 tablespoons. Good Stuff! There is many books about Coconut Oil and it's benefits. Mar 29, 2013
                                                          irlande v: i love Mar 27, 2013
                                                          Richard P: great for cooking Mar 20, 2013
                                                          christine r: use it for everything great stuff Mar 18, 2013
                                                          Jim K: Very high quality product, tastes great! Mar 18, 2013
                                                          Stacy W: It was extra virgin, cold pressed, and unrefined for a good price Mar 16, 2013
                                                          Al B: This is the most healthy cooking fat available, and it just tastes good! Mar 11, 2013
                                                          Edgar V: Smells really great! Mar 10, 2013
                                                          Jessica H: Love coconut oil, I use it to cook with, spread on toast, heart healthy.
                                                          It is also good for skin care.
                                                          Feb 10, 2013
                                                          Luann N: For those of us who want an alternative to butter for many applications, this is healthier and VS brand is a good value. Jan 31, 2013
                                                          Lorraine L: I havent used it for awhile but again Ive used it in the past and I know it helps your digestive system and helps u lose weight> Dr Oz raves about this as well. Jan 29, 2013
                                                          Laura C: great value and taste. Also, works great on dry skin Jan 26, 2013
                                                          Barbara S: I so love this. When it is in solid form I use it instead of butter on toast....YUMMMM! If I have spilled it on my hands, I rub it in. It goes in my smoothies, my protein shakes...it is deeeeelicious. Jan 24, 2013
                                                          Andrea B: Wonderful product! Jan 20, 2013
                                                          jordis k: I love this product. It smells terrific and gives baked goods an extra flavor. It is also great as an additional fat in rice. Jan 18, 2013
                                                          STEPHANIE S: This is one of my favorite coconut oil. It gives my food a good flavor and you cannot beat the price. I always purchase this coconut oil when it is on sale. Jan 10, 2013
                                                          Michael T: I ordered this product to ensure that I include healthy fats MCT to assist in fatloss and general health. Jan 8, 2013
                                                          Mandy B: boost thyroid functions Jan 8, 2013
                                                          Dixie C: This is a very healthy product to use instead of shortening for baking and cooking! Jan 4, 2013
                                                          Carolyn K: I think it is wonderful for cooking and I use it in place of butter - a healthy substitute. Jan 2, 2013
                                                          Reginald F: to support hair health. Dec 28, 2012
                                                          Danielle R: Heard that it was a good thing to have but did not like it so gave it away Dec 27, 2012
                                                          Peggy C: Love cooking with coconut oil. This is a very reasonable price for both organic and virgin coconut oil. Dec 22, 2012
                                                          Sharon F: Vitamin Shoppe points Dec 2, 2012
                                                          Elizabeth M J: I've been taking this for about 6 months for my brain! I think it's helping ... Nov 25, 2012
                                                          ann h: I use this oil for cooking, skin and hair moisturizer, oil pulling for detoxification, and weight control. Great taste,great product Nov 13, 2012
                                                          Susan Q: For memory improvement Nov 11, 2012
                                                          Jenene K: for dry hands and body Oct 27, 2012
                                                          Patricia S asked: When I received my coconut oil it was solid. How do i get it to become liquid and after it does become liquid, how/where should I store it? Also, what is the shelf life? Thank you. Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Answer this · Send to friends Good question? Yes (1) No (0)
                                                          brittany d: This is a cold pressed coconut oil, it's suppose to be in a solid state. I like the solid state, i have not used mine for ingestion. I use the coconut oil as a moisturizer, a base for homemade masks, and a leave in overnight conditioner for my hair. The coconut oil goes from a solid to liquid state just with body temp. It takes very little heat to turn it into a liquid, which is why the label says to store in a cool dry place. It would be difficult to store this product at a liquid state(and keep it fresh) so i suggest if you are using for cooking, just heat up what little bit you need, it easily scoops out of the container! Hope that was helpful! Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Reply to brittany Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Rosselys G: Are you using this oil for cooking? I am, and all you have to do is put the approprite amount on a pan (or pot whatever you use to cook) and it melts in seconds and it turns into liquid.

                                                          I would think that once it turns liquid you can let it cool down and pour it into a plastic container.

                                                          If you are using this product for the hair, i am not sure how that works yet. You know how they say coconut oil is good for hair...

                                                          As far as the self life, i am not sure, but i think i do remember seeing an expiration date on it. Check the container.

                                                          Hope this helped.
                                                          Feb 6, 2013
                                                          Reply to Rosselys Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Chana H: My coconut oil arrives solid and stays solid in my pantry. I keep a small container of it in the bathroom to use as moisturizer; If I set it near my small bathroom heater for a short time, it liquifies quickly, then solidifies again as it sits in the cool room.
                                                          I have never had any issues with freshness. I have actually gotten it in liquid form, only to have to solidify; I suspect that it goes back and forth several times before we purchase it. So it appears to have a long shelf life regardless. The warmth or coolness of the environment determines the form.
                                                          Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Reply to Chana Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Norma C: I can not answer all your question but... I use a TBSP. in smoothies as well as adding to my coffee in the morning as it very nutritious and I enjoy my morning coffee so much more. I blend it up along with a TBSP. of organic unsalted butter with a immersion blender. It looks as though it has cream in it. It gives much more energy to start the day. I also use it for pan frying.

                                                          In the summer time it becomes more liquid. You can heat the jar in a pan of water if you must have it in liquid form.
                                                          Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Reply to Norma Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Rebecca N: Hi Patricia,

                                                          I've read that it's perfectly safe to store coconut oil on the pantry shelf; however, I always store my coconut oil in the refrigerator and, when I need to use it, take it out for an hour or so. before hand. It will soften, then I place it back in the refrigerator.

                                                          I love the Coconut Oil... It's fabulous for everything!!

                                                          Take care...
                                                          Rebecca
                                                          Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Reply to Rebecca Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Jim K: If you warm it slightly, it should liquify for you. If you place the jar in lukewarm water, that should be sufficient. (It is usually liquid just standing on the counter during the summer.)

                                                          We usually just store it on the counter or in a cabinet, and have had no problems. We usually use up a jar within a few months, so I can't tell you the shelf life.
                                                          Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Reply to Jim Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Julie L: It will liquify at around 80 degrees. During the summertime in my pantry, it is almost always a liquid. It will stay fresh for a very long time either way. I use it for making popcorn (the best) on the stove, and just scoop it into the kettle - it liquifies almost instantly. Also, as a moisturizer, it will liquify quickly if you just hold it between your palms. Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Reply to Julie Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Shannon A: It should be stored as a solid at room temperature. It will become liquid if the temperature increases above 75 degrees (I think that's the temp). If you touch it with your hands, it will liquify fast (for use on skin or hair). Or you cook with it, it will melt like butter. Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Reply to Shannon Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Ellen M: To liquefy coconut oil heat it in a pan or pot. I heat just the amount that I need. In the warm weather coconut oil is in a liquid state, but in the cold weather it stays solid. Feb 5, 2013
                                                          Reply to Ellen Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Diane R asked: How much do you take a day for weight loss? Jan 18, 2013
                                                          Answer this · Send to friends Good question? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          STEPHANIE S: I take 1 tablespoon of coconut oil a day for weight loss. I normally put 1 tablespoon in fry my eggs or whatever fry food I am making for breakfast. You can use it to cook any type of food if you do not feel like taking a tablespoon each day. You can also use it instead of margarine. Jan 21, 2013
                                                          Reply to STEPHANIE Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          juanita w: I don't use for weight loss. However, I have noticed that it does help to increase energy and does not make me feel sleepy or tired after eating like other oils, namely butter, ( i.e. I use it in place of butter and I love it on vegetables, kidney and black beans) Jan 21, 2013
                                                          Reply to juanita Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Donna S: I took one tablespoon a day and sometimes up to two. I never lost any weight but it sure made my skin soft. I love using coconut oil for my skin and cooking but it isn't a weightloss supplement. It is more of a health supplement, good for organs. Donna Jan 21, 2013
                                                          Reply to Donna Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          francis c: I take 4 tablespoons per day on toast or straight up.
                                                          Also great for your skin and hair as an overnight moisturizer.
                                                          Jan 21, 2013
                                                          Reply to francis Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Susan S: I dont take for weight loss. I use for health benefits. I cook with it, and use to moisturize skin and hair. Jan 23, 2013
                                                          Reply to Susan Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Hannelore L: 1 teaspoon Jan 21, 2013
                                                          Reply to Hannelore Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          A Vitamin Shoppe customer asked: Is the bottle BPA free? Sep 6, 2013
                                                          Answer this · Send to friends Good question? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Julia P: Sad to admit I don't know what BPA is, so hard to answer the question! Listed ingredients are: organic unrefined cold-pressed extra-virgin coconut oil. Contains tree nuts (coconut). No yeast, corn, wheat, sugar, salt, starch, dairy, citrus, soy, fish, preservatives, artificial colors of flavors added. It is non-GMO. Mine has morphed from solid to liquid and back again with no apparent negative consequences. It's a great product with a long shelf life. Sep 6, 2013
                                                          Reply to Julia Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Pascal E: Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil is packaged in PETE plastic bottles. PETE is polyethylene Terephthalate. There is no BPA in this plastic. Sep 10, 2013
                                                          Reply to Pascal Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          RUSSELL B: That's a great question, but I don't know the answer. However, the container is plastic. Sep 8, 2013
                                                          Reply to RUSSELL Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          Susan S: I don't see BPA free listed on the packaging. It is plastic. Sep 6, 2013
                                                          Reply to Susan Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          A Vitamin Shoppe customer asked: I usually buy another brand and got this one because of value, have noticed a huge difference in the oil, it seems to be a lot softer and does not absorb as easily, almost like pertroleum is in it. Any idea on why it is so different? Apr 26, 2014
                                                          Answer this · Send to friends Good question? Yes (0) No (0)
                                                          joan h: I agree it is softer than others I have had. The heat affects it. If your house is warm it will be softer. If it is too liquid you could refrigerate.. I eat it, use in cooking and give to my dogs. The taste is fine. I don't use on my skin so don't know about absorbing.
                                                          I
                                                          Apr 26, 2014
                                                          Reply to joan Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)

                                                          Healthy Info & More

                                                          sign up. save 10%

                                                          invalid email address entered. please try again.

                                                          email:
                                                           
                                                          almost there! click sign me up for exclusive coupons, great deals, early access to sales and info on how to stay healthy & fit.  view our privacy policy.
                                                          *first time customers only