Potassium Citrate - Buy Potassium Supplement Citrate (99 MG) 300 Capsules at vitamin shoppe
00
:
00
:
00
:
00
Free Shipping on Orders Over $25
Quick Reorder
FREE SHIPPING on orders of $25 or more.

How to get FREE Shipping:
1. Place your online order of $25 or more*
2. Ship to an address within the United States (including U.S. territories)
3. Your shipment should arrive within 2-6 business days from your order

* Your total purchase must reach the designated amount after any discounts are applied and prior to the costs of shipping and tax.
Buy 1, Get 1 50% Off
the Vitamin Shoppe                  Potassium Citrate 99 MG, 300.0 Each , Capsules
people recommend this product.
the Vitamin Shoppe (More from the Vitamin Shoppe )

Potassium Citrate

300 Capsules Item #: VS-1081 / 1037304
  • Value Price: $9.99
  • Earn 10 Healthy Awards points when you buy this item. What's this?
Availability:  In Stock - Will Ship Today
Quantity:
  • Order by 5:00 PM Eastern Time - We'll Ship It Today
  • Free Shipping on orders of $25 or more
 

the Vitamin Shoppe Potassium Citrate (99 MG) 300 Capsules


Product Label

Supports Cardiovascular and Cellular Health.

Directions

As a dietary supplement, take one (1) capsule daily, preferably with a meal.

Warning

Consult your healthcare provider prior touse if you are pregnant, nursing, taking any medication or have any medical conditions. Keep out of reach of children.

Does Not Contain:

Yeast, Corn, Wheat, Gluten, Salt, Soy, Starch, Dairy, Fish, Citrus, Artificial Colors or Flavors, Nuts.

Potassium Citrate Supplement Facts


How do you read a supplement facts label?

Supplement Facts
Serving Size  1 CAPSULE
Servings Per Container   300
 
Amount Per
Serving
% Daily
Value
Potassium(As Potassium Citrate)
99 Mg
3%
* Daily value not established

Other Ingredients:
Microcrystalline cellulose, dicalcium phosphate, gelatin, magnesium stearate, silica.

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect solely the views and opinions expressed by the contributors and not those of the Vitamin Shoppe. Vitamin Shoppe does not verify or endorse any claims made in these reviews. Please read the full product reviews disclaimer here.

Potassium Citrate Reviews

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Vitamin ShoppePotassium Citrate (99 MG) - 300 Capsules
 
4.8

(based on 5 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Easy on stomach (3)
  • Easy to swallow (3)
  • Effective (3)
  • Simple to take (3)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Daily use (3)
      • Reviewer Profile:
      • Health conscious (3)

    Reviewed by 5 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 1-5

    Back to top

    (4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    Double benefits!

    By Jamz

    from Oakland, CA

    About Me Health Conscious

    Pros

    • Easy on Stomach
    • Easy To Swallow
    • Effective
    • Simple To Take

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Daily Use

      Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Potassium Citrate (99 MG) - 300 Capsules:

      Originally used this project to prevent cramps due to loss of electrolyes. According to Wikipedia and other sources, Potassium Citrate is perscribed by doctors to prevent flare-ups of Gout. I have to say the only time I have had a gout flare-up since I started using this is when I ran out... :-)

      (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      Woman Need To Be Tested For This

      By jeweles

      from Boynton beach, Fl

      About Me Health Conscious

      See all my reviews

      Pros

      • Easy on Stomach
      • Easy To Swallow
      • Effective
      • Simple To Take
      • Tastes Good

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Daily Use

        Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Potassium Citrate (99 MG) - 300 Capsules:

        Since I am taking this, I no longer get Bronchitis. My Doctor checks my level every four months, and that has kept me out of the hospital for 10 years now.

        (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Inexpensive and Double Benefit!

        By JefSeven

        from SE PA

        About Me Health Conscious

        Pros

        • Easy on Stomach
        • Easy To Swallow
        • Effective
        • Simple To Take

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Daily Use
          • Electrolyte Replacement

          Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Potassium Citrate (99 MG) - 300 Capsules:

          I originally bought potassium to help prevent cramping on rides of more than 40 miles or so - the point at which I could start to feel them coming on in my hamstrings. I read that it doesn't really work that way, but that doesn't jive with my own experience that I can usually go for more miles than I can without it. I take one in the morning every day, and one at night if I've ridden that day. After doing some research, I found that the citrate version helps prevent kidney stones. Since my brother had one last year, I would imagine that I'm genetically predisposed to having one, but haven't yet. Since they seem to have a lot of benefit, and no downside that I can see, I recommend this product to anyone who excercises regularly.

          (5 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          Potassium Citrate VS-1081

          By Benjamin C

          from Undisclosed

          Pros

          • Convenience
          • price
          • Quality
          • Satisfaction
          • value

          Cons

            Best Uses

              Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Potassium Citrate (99 MG) - 300 Capsules:

              This key electrolyte aids in proper heart muscle functioning, as well as eliminates leg cramps at night,(my main use). Never really cared for bananas, and these quickly add a boost to your health. 3 caps a day each morning with the rest of my supplements and I'm good to go. Highly recommended for adolescents in their growth spurts, athletes in-training, etc.

              (14 of 14 customers found this review helpful)

               
              4.0

              Good stuff :)

              By Gabriel D

              from Undisclosed

              Pros

              • price
              • Quality
              • Satisfaction
              • value

              Cons

                Best Uses

                  Comments about Vitamin Shoppe Potassium Citrate (99 MG) - 300 Capsules:

                  As the natural citric potassium salt, this product does a good job and doesn't cause me any upset stomach or any other discomfort. I take it with food and it works well for me. Hopefully it will help me never have to worry about kidney stones; plus it balances acidity---double win ;)

                  Displaying reviews 1-5

                  Back to top

                  Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect solely the views and opinions expressed by the contributors and not those of the Vitamin Shoppe. Vitamin Shoppe does not verify or endorse any claims made in these reviews. Please read the full product reviews disclaimer here.
                  Potassium Citrate
                  Already Asked: 4 Questions, 106 Answers
                  Sort by:
                  Vitamin Shoppe Store asked: Why did you choose this?
                  Ona O: keeps my electrolytes balanced Apr 11, 2014
                  James N: Preventative maintenance for Gout and Cramping. Apr 4, 2014
                  Erin H: I have allergies to many potassium rich vegetables and fruits and need a supplement. VS brand is easy to swallow and keeps me from getting cramps in my legs and feet from potassium deficiency. Apr 4, 2014
                  Michael Z: highly absorbable Apr 3, 2014
                  Xiaojing L: to have some support of Potassium. Apr 1, 2014
                  P. M: Dr recommended for my son, Vitamin Shoppe brand has been a good choice for a number of other products Apr 1, 2014
                  Christopher D: Most economical + good quality Mar 31, 2014
                  Fredna W: use this with exercise for muscle cramps Mar 26, 2014
                  Joyce K: supply was low Mar 24, 2014
                  Kristine B: Muscle spasms Mar 10, 2014
                  Patricia G: Something I read led me to taking just 1 99mg. extra a day, as we get potassium in other things. Feb 24, 2014
                  Dick Ann C: I use it regularly to balance all the salt we have in our diet these days. Great! Feb 20, 2014
                  Gayle E: Recommendation of veterinarian, since pricing was so low. Feb 19, 2014
                  Louise B: i take 1 capsule each time i take 3 capsules of magnesium for leg & foot cramps. Feb 18, 2014
                  Margaret M: Good general physical maintenance Feb 9, 2014
                  Vivian J: Good source of potassium to deal with issues such as muscles cramping. Feb 6, 2014
                  Ronald K: Leg cramps Jan 25, 2014
                  Bob M: Safe amoount of potassium for prevention of muscle cramps. Jan 12, 2014
                  Ruth C: I take potassium because my family has a history of low potassium Jan 11, 2014
                  Sandra F: I use this to avoid leg cramps. It works well. Jan 10, 2014
                  Joshua N: Potassium Citrate is an effective treatement for Calcium Oxalate kidney stones. The potassium citrate reacts with the calcium oxalate in an ion replacement reaction to form potassium oxalate. This allows the oxalate to solvate, this dissolving the kidney stones. Dec 28, 2013
                  Karen W: Good for leg cramps and helps in other body organs. And I malabsorb vitamins so I need this. Dec 18, 2013
                  Michael K: Great Product Dec 18, 2013
                  Karen D: I always take 99mg. of Potassium every day. I usually use this Brand. It is a great value. Dec 17, 2013
                  Karen M: Works well to keep me heart healthy! Dec 17, 2013
                  Dawn L: My Veterinarian recommended this for my male cat who forms crystals in his bladder, I'm to add a capsule to his food once a day. Hopefully this will do the trick since he refuses to eat the special diet food for his condition. Nov 27, 2013
                  Linda S: Vitamin Shoppe reputation and price. Nov 21, 2013
                  Marlene S: My dog gets 3 caps twice a day Nov 17, 2013
                  Margaret C: vet recommended Oct 17, 2013
                  Ryan S: Ran out Sep 29, 2013
                  Evonne V: I like to take potassium to balance my calccium and magnesium intake Sep 26, 2013
                  Sonja E: price and size Sep 21, 2013
                  Victoria B: I've been taking potassium for years ever since I was taken to the hospital and I had no potassium in my body at all. For some reason my body doesn't hold onto potassium. Sep 16, 2013
                  Holly A: "recommended by Ideal Protein diet" Sep 14, 2013
                  William T: used before Sep 13, 2013
                  samantha g: regulate bowels Sep 12, 2013
                  C. Deane H: Leg cramps Sep 4, 2013
                  Joan W: leg cramps Aug 31, 2013
                  paula l: Really helps with leg cramps. Good product. Aug 30, 2013
                  barbara l: I LACK POTASSIUM, ALSO READ GOOD THINGS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT. Aug 30, 2013
                  Nancy J: I've used Vitamin Shoppe for years when I lived in Portland Oregon and could go there in person. When I moved to Missouri I was so bummed that I could not find one near where I lived. I was greatful to find out you were on line. I chose this bottle because it was a better value for the money. Aug 26, 2013
                  Jeffrey S: Wanted a good source of K and this was it! Aug 25, 2013
                  Helen G: it helps keep kidney stones from forming Aug 3, 2013
                  Nancy Evon B: found a need Jul 31, 2013
                  Thomas T: I like the big sizes, ~once a year order. Jul 29, 2013
                  Hytec E: the only company i can find that sells this and the price is great Jul 24, 2013
                  Kathie M: Low potassium Jul 23, 2013
                  Mary G: helps with nighttime leg pain. Use with calcium/magnesium. Jul 19, 2013
                  KAREN E. C: Helps in overall health. Jul 17, 2013
                  Susan B: Dr. recommended Jul 15, 2013
                  don g: great Jul 11, 2013
                  Brenda M: cramping muscles Jul 10, 2013
                  Analisa P: price and quantity Jul 8, 2013
                  Gaila S: Helps with muscle cramps, especially in the summer. Jul 5, 2013
                  Jeannie B: No nightly leg cramps. Jul 3, 2013
                  Nancy K: With calcium citrate helps preserve bone density. Jun 25, 2013
                  JOANN M: stops leg cramps and better than a bananna for those who can't eat them May 30, 2013
                  bonnie p: low sodium diet May 13, 2013
                  Joel R: It was suggested that I use this as a treatment for kidney stones. Since beginning the daily use my kidney stone probelm has been reduced considerably. I still pass a few stones, however their never very large or create problems---what a relief! May 6, 2013
                  Jeff L: used before May 1, 2013
                  Jan K: I get a lot of leg cramps, this along with calcium & magnesium citrate has helped Apr 30, 2013
                  Chana R: It helps keep potasium at healthy levels, Apr 18, 2013
                  erez c: a pharmacist recomended it to me for my problems,it does work very well for many years for me,have tried from other brands but this one is the best by far for me. Apr 15, 2013
                  Elizabeth L: Lowers blood pressure Mar 27, 2013
                  AnnMarie M: helps retain calcium Mar 26, 2013
                  MICHAEL T: good price Mar 24, 2013
                  Isaac C: My Doctor recommended for pain and muscle spasms. Mar 22, 2013
                  Laura-Jean M: Best price; high quality. Mar 22, 2013
                  Miriam S: I needed for joint pains Mar 19, 2013
                  Jim T: REORDER Mar 19, 2013
                  Sarah A: Chelated, good price Mar 19, 2013
                  Faye K: per doctor's instructions Mar 18, 2013
                  Benjamin C: supposedly helps with joint/muscle pains Mar 8, 2013
                  Janice M W: stopped my foot and leg cramps Feb 23, 2013
                  Teresa L: for potassium deficiency to relieve muscle soreness, cramping in legs, etc Feb 21, 2013
                  Rogene T: supposely may help with leg cramps Feb 17, 2013
                  Lisa Kay R: Dr. Oz recommends it to help boost fat loss with the ingredient in Citrimax. Feb 16, 2013
                  Allyn A: loosens cramps in legs Feb 14, 2013
                  RACHEL W: great for after a workout, esp calves, to keep pain down Feb 11, 2013
                  Ellen W: used before Feb 11, 2013
                  Robert E: capsule form difficult to obtain elsewhere Feb 10, 2013
                  Juliane H: I used to have bronchitis every six months until I had my potassium checked and found out it was low. I have not been in the hospital for bronchitis for 12 years and I was in every six months before that! Feb 8, 2013
                  Alice C: As the years have passed, I seem to have lost a lot of energy, and this has been a great help with that Jan 16, 2013
                  Linda D: We do not have enough potassium in our diets. Jan 15, 2013
                  Debbie S: I use this product to help with my never ending leg cramps. It seems to help. They aren't so never ending these days. Jan 10, 2013
                  Vickie H: Heard I should be taking the citrate form Jan 7, 2013
                  judy f: comes in capsules used for years Dec 31, 2012
                  Jennifer L: read the reviews going to try it , my dr said I have chronic low potassium levels Dec 31, 2012
                  Jane B: Have ordered at the Vitamin Shoppe nearby but cannot drive to the store Dec 23, 2012
                  Sherry M: my husband uses this and he can not do without it . Dec 23, 2012
                  Fred M: I take Potassium Citrate to help lower my blood pressure and because the citrate version of this mineral is easiest to digest with no upset stomach, though I take 16 99 mg capsules/day. Dec 22, 2012
                  Linda F: It helps my blood pressure. Dec 2, 2012
                  Linda T: Studies show men and women taking K-citrate supplement can reduce bone mineral density. Nov 30, 2012
                  Eugene L: I'm an old guy who got into YOGA a few years ago. After a hard class, muscles got sore. My therapist suggested I increase my Potassium and Calcium. This stuff works great! If I'm real sore, I'll do one morning, one evening; otherwise, once-a-day is fine! Nov 29, 2012
                  Brittany B: The citrate factor makes the potassium more absorbent. Nov 26, 2012
                  M.D. S: Satisfies need for extra potassium Nov 26, 2012
                  CHARLOTTE P: If you need extra potassium this is a great product Nov 12, 2012
                  A Vitamin Shoppe customer asked: Dr has prescribed 5mg of potassium Citrate for the clearing of urine producing stones. Is this the same or more than the 5mg? Dec 31, 2013
                  Answer this · Send to friends Good question? Yes (2) No (0)
                  Tara B: I would like to add that all over-the-counter potassium is just 99 milligrams by law. This is why doctors tend to prescribe it for patients that need considerably more - so you don't have to take a lot of pills all day long. The doctors can also prescribe time-release potassium. However, as pointed out, prescriptions are expensive and often unnecessary when you can just buy the OTC version and take a few more pills. I have always found that time-release doesn't work very well anyway and spreading your potassium out throughout the day is the best way to take it to avoid gastric upset. Always take with food or a large glass of water unless instructed otherwise by your physician. Jan 4, 2014
                  Reply to Tara Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  Janice S: My potassium levels were a little high so I now take only one 5mg of Potassium Citrate and 2 Magnesium Citrate tablets. I have had no stones since starting this regime. I wish they had just the citrate! Lemon juice is also a good source of citrate which is the magic ingredient against calcium deposits forming stones. Use dairy as a source of calcium---it does not form stones. Greens such as collards and mustards, calcium based antacids and calcium supplements can accumulate as kidney stones. if this has been a problem---make sure you know that calcium is the composition of your stones. Dec 31, 2013
                  Reply to Janice Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  Tara B: Your physician is unlikely to have prescribed such a tiny amount as 5 mg of this mineral. More likely, it was 5 mEq of potassium. To get the equivalent in milligrams you will need to know exactly which potassium your doctor recommends as each potassium has a different molecular weight and to convert mEq to milligrams you need to know the weight. The internet tells me that 5 mEq's of potassium citrate =540 milligrams of potassium citrate. But if your doctor indicated potassium chloride then 5 mEq = 320 milligrams. I hope this helps. Jan 1, 2014
                  Reply to Tara Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  Alice C: I am have a recurring kidney stone problem, so I can appreciate the question.
                  I have not found that this has increased my formation of stones.
                  The potassium Citrate I bought and pictured here is
                  99mg, so it would be more than the 5mg prescribed by
                  this person's doctor.
                  I am taking this, along with cranberry juice, daily,
                  and I have had no stone problems for the past 16 years, which for me, is almost a miracle
                  Dec 31, 2013
                  Reply to Alice Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  Fred D asked: I have been taking potassium citrate 1080 MG SA Tabs three times a day two caps at a time. That replaces "K citrate 20mg" given to me as a sample from my urologist. It was very expensive so it was switched to the 1080 MG SA tabs. Now, the question - how does Vitamin Shoppe Potassium Citrate 99mg compare to the others? Dec 17, 2013
                  Answer this · Send to friends Good question? Yes (2) No (0)
                  A Vitamin Shoppe customer asked: This product is sold as a capsule, can it be crushed or cut in half? Jan 18, 2014
                  Answer this · Send to friends Good question? Yes (0) No (0)
                  Diane D: I am not finding information on the website to explain what a capsule is. That would help.

                  Their capsules are actually clear tubes with powdered potassium citrate in it. You can open the tubes and pour out the powder, so this might work for what you have in mind. You could pour out half of the powder or any amount that you want. You could use the other end of the tube to pour an equal amount in both ends and get exactly half.

                  I very much like their vitamins.

                  Feel free to send more questions.
                  Jan 18, 2014
                  Reply to Diane Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  Sally N: It's a capsule. The powder inside can be emptied out, but it should NOT be divided in half. If you do so, you cannot be sure that you are truly getting half the dose, as the potassium may not be evenly distributed within the powder. If you need to take half this amount of potassium, look for a lower dose capsule or tablet. Jan 18, 2014
                  Reply to Sally Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  H G P: It appears that the 'plastic' outer coating can be twisted apart. Assuming the contents remain in a dry condition, I can only assume the contents could be separated in half. I didn't try it but would be happy to try one of the pills if requested. Jan 18, 2014
                  Reply to H G Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  John P: Don't know, but probably contains a powder. it probably can be taken every other day, and will have the same effect as one half per day. Jan 18, 2014
                  Reply to John Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  Leslie A. M: Capsules can neither be crushed nor cut in half; they can be opened and the contents sprinkled. Jan 31, 2014
                  Reply to Leslie A. Good answer? Yes (0) No (0)
                  sign up. save big!

                  invalid email address entered. please try again.

                  email:
                   
                  almost there! click sign me up for exclusive coupons, great deals, early access to sales and info on how to stay healthy & fit.  view our privacy policy.
                  These products are dietary supplements and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Reviews are not intended as a substitute for appropriate medical care or the advice of a physician or another medical professional. Actual results may vary among users. VitaminShoppe.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or validity of the information contributed by outside product review submissions, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. The information and statements regarding the dietary supplements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. If you have a medical condition or disease, please talk to your health care provider. If you are currently taking a prescription medication, you should work with your health care provider before discontinuing any drug or altering any drug regimen, including augmenting your regimen with dietary supplements. Do not attempt to self-diagnose any disease or ailment based on the reviews and do not use the information contained herein for diagnosing or treating a health problem or disease. Proper medical care is critical to good health. If you have a health concern or suspect you have an undiagnosed sign or symptom, please consult a physician or health care practitioner.